Looking Ahead: Virtual Feasts


I go to Weaver Street Market near my office for lunch often and my first stop is always at the dessert counter. I like to stand there and contemplate all the scrumptious and beautifully decorated pies, cakes, tarts, chocolate mousse cups, cup cakes, lemon bars, cheesecakes…well, you get the idea. Then a really nice employee always asks if they can help and I move on to the salad bar. But for those few seconds I savor the idea that I can have anything in the counter, and that sort of means I can have everything—until I make a decision.

That’s also true on the arts scene in January. I’m fortunate to live in an area with vast numbers of concerts, plays, touring shows, exhibits, recitals, lectures, movies, readings  and presentations.  I’ll only get to see a couple. I’m privileged to participate in a few. But I relish all these opportunities and I’ll share some and maybe you’ll find something to your taste as well.

Down in Sanford at the Temple Theatre, Mike Wiley’s adaptation of Tim Tyson’s Blood Done Sign My Name is playing January 29-February 7. I’ve been wanting to see one of Mike Wiley’s shows since I heard a piece about him on WUNC Radio last year.

Also on January 29, check out Looking for Ms. Locklear, a film by NC internet sensations, Rhett & Link (who will be on hand for this screening). Part of ChathamArts Sustainable Cinema Series, the show will be at the Barn at Fearrington Village .

If you’re in the mood (sorry), come back down to Pittsboro on February 9 when the Glenn Miller Orchestra comes to town for a very special concert. The NHS Jazz Ensemble will open the show being held at Northwood’s Benjamin J. Lee Auditorium. Tickets are only $10 for reserved seats and $5 general admission and are expected to sell out. [Any proceeds will assist the Jazz Band as they travel to Orlando later in the month for the Disney Jazz Celebration.]

I have a date to go see Harry Connick, Jr. at the DPAC on Feb. 16.  And that’s close enough to Valentine’s for me. [I told you I was fortunate.]

Theatre in the Park is mounting the show with my favorite title this year—Don’t Cry for Me Margaret Mitchell, Feb. 12-14 & 18-21. Written by a mother/son duo, this wacky adventure is apparently not too far off the mark from actual events as David O. Selznick, Ben Hecht and Victor Fleming spend a week sequestered in Selznick’s office doing a complete rewrite of the script for Gone With The Wind and subsisting on peanuts and bananas.

At UNC,  Playmakers Repertory Company will be holding auditions on Feb 13 & 14  for this summer’s Youth Conservatory production of The Mystery of Edwin Drood. The Tony-award winning musical will run July 22-25. Perhaps they’ll be serving up cucumber sandwiches in the lobby March 3-21 during the run of Oscar Wilde’s classic, The Importance of Being Ernest. Both should be a treat.

Meanwhile in Durham, Derrick Ivey and the Durham Savoyards are celebrating their 47th Season with this year’s production of The Mikado. Check out their website and read Derrick’s director’s blog.

Back in my neighborhood, the annual Northwood Spring Musical will be a production of Frank Loesser’s 1950 classic, Guys & Dolls. This will be the 60th anniversary of its Broadway premier and the 100th anniversary of Frank Loesser’s (and Abe Burrow’s) birth. This is a gala year at Northwood celebrating the $4.5 million renovation to the arts wing and the auditorium. Visit the NHSAEF website to learn more as we get closer to opening night. The show runs March 25-27. [My daughter says I already spend too much time working on music or promotional pieces for this show. But here’s a really neat article and interview with William Ivey Long about creating the costume’s for the 1992 Broadway revival and it has lots of pictures!]

Duke Chapel is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year and on April 18, the Duke Chapel Choir will present their Spring Concert featuring the Duruflé Requiem. On my top ten list of favorite choral works, so I’m excited to get to do this again.

Chatham County will have their first-ever All-County Chorus on Thursday, April 22 at Northwood’s Benjamin J. Lee Auditorium. Dr. Dan Huff, from UNC’s Music Department & School of Education will be the guest clinician.

Of course, the big news in town is Wicked, coming to the DPAC April 21-May 16.

So that gives you pretty big spread—Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Pittsboro. From $5–+$100. January to May. Enjoy!  What shows are you looking forward to?



Leave a Reply

